Athlete of the Year 2017: Timi is 2nd!

Athlete of the Year 2017: Timi is 2nd!

2018-01-11 – The Winner is Katinka Hosszú, the 3rd place was won by Anita Márton.


On Thursday evening, the awards for 2017 results were given at the Gla, called M4 Sport – Athlete of the Year. Among the women, the swimmer Katinka Hosszú was the winner, Tímea Babos was second and the shot putter Anita Márton was third.

“I’m very happy to be second amongst these great athletes!!! Katinka has achieved incredible results last year, just like Anita! It’s very nice to be in such a place. I also had results that Hungarian female tennis player did not achieve. I hope that in the future I will be achieve such a results and maybe, I will be the winner! Unfortunately, I was not personally in the gala, but I’m glad my parents were there. During the awards ceremony I was just out on court, because it’s not easy to find a place during the qualies, so it’s hard to train. So I came to 7 in the morning but did not get the “trophy” for it. It started to fall, so I had only a quarter of an hour and then I went to the gym. Thanks to My family, coach, Thomas Drouet, friends and My Team for constant support and help! Special thanks to fans, who give encouragement, have long been a huge motivation, inspire Me to be better and better every day! And last but not least, I would like to thank my sponsors, MOL, Szerencsejáték Zrt. And Mazda for the persistent support”said Timi.


This year she remained unbeaten in singles in Budapest, and she was also finalist at Quebec City and in Tashkent. In doubles she triumphed with Russian Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova in Sydney, and won with Czech Republic’s Andrea Hlaváčková in Rabat, Quebec City, Tashkent, Moscow and at the WTA Finals in Singapore. Thanks to the last triumph, Timi became the first female World Champion of Hungarian tennis. She was also finalist with her Czech partner in Madrid and Beijing.


Katinka Hosszú was also Women’s Athlete of the Year in 2009, 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016.

1. Katinka Hosszú (Swimming) 1086 points
2. Tímea Babos (Tennis) 480
3. Anita Márton (Athletic) 448
4. Anita Görbicz (Handball) 200
5. Tamara Takács (Kayak) 143
6. Zsófia Földházi (Modern Pentathlon) 68
7. Szilvia Lubics (Ultra Marathon Runner) 53
8. Sarolta Kovács (Modern Pentathlon) 51
9. Petra Senánszky (Finswimming) 44
10. Zsófia Kovács (Gymnastics) 43

♦ Disabled Female Athlete of the Year: Zsuzsanna Krajnyák
♦ Disabled Male Athlete of the Year: Richárd Osváth
♦ Disabled Team of the Year: Women’s wheelchair national squad (Zsuzsa Krajnyák, Gyöngyi Dani, Éva Hajmási, Veres Amarilla, Erika Fóris)
♦ Disabled Trainer of the Year: Sándor Beliczay
♦ Hungarian goal of the year (based on fan’s voting): Joseph Paintsil (Ferencváros, against Videoton FC)
♦ Female footballer of the year: Zsanett Jakabfi
♦ Male footballer of the year: Nikolics Nemanja
♦ Team of the Year – Traditional Team Sports: Győri Audi ETO KC
♦ Team of the Year – Individual Sports: Tennis Davis Cup Team (Attila Balázs, Márton Fucsovics, Zsombor Piros, Gábor Borsos, Levente Gödry)
♦ Coach of the year: Shane Tusup
♦ Female Athlete of the Year: Katinka Hosszú
♦ Male Athlete of the Year: Balázs Baji
♦ The Lifetime Achievement of the MLSZ (Hungarian Football Association): Kálmán Mészöly
♦ The Lifetime Achievement of the MSÚSZ (Hungarian Sports Journalists’ Association) and MOB (Hungarian Olympic Committee): András Balczó