2018: the WTA Tour calendar

2018: the WTA Tour calendar

21/11/2017 – The new season will start on 1 January in Brisbane, Shenzhen and Auckland.


The 45th anniversary of the WTA will see players compete at 55 tournaments and four Grand Slams across 32 countries.


The changes for the 2018 season include the Japan Women’s Open Tennis event, an International-level tournament, relocating to Hiroshima from Tokyo. Additionally, the Qatar Total Open (Doha) will return to Premier 5 status with the Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships returning to a Premier event; and the Rogers Cup will shift locations to Montreal from Toronto. In both cases, the calendar switches from year to year, with Doha and Dubai alternating Premier 5 status and the Rogers Cup moving between Toronto and Montreal.


2018 marks the 45th year since the WTA was founded by Billie Jean King in 1973, uniting all of women’s professional tennis under one tour.  Since then, the tour has grown to more than 2,500 athletes and $139 million in prize money at events around the globe.


Each event represents a crucial lap on the Porsche Race to Singapore. The top eight singles players and doubles teams of the 2018 season will earn the right to compete at the 2018 BNP Paribas WTA Finals Singapore presented by SC Global. (WTATENNIS.COM)